August 2010

New bencher elected
Julian Falconer of Toronto was elected as bencher at August Convocation. Mr. Falconer was elected to fill the vacancy created by the election of Laurie Pawlitza as Treasurer at June Convocation. Motion.

Convocation approved a series of committee and external appointments. Full list of committee and external appointments.

Law Society committee chairs and vice-chairs

Access to Justice
Marion Boyd (co-chair)
Paul Henderson (co-chair)
Bonnie Tough (vice-chair)

Appeal Panel
Mark Sandler (chair)
Thomas Heintzman (vice-chair)

Chris Bredt (chair)

Compensation Fund
Susan McGrath (chair)

Equity and Aboriginal Issues
Janet Minor (chair)
Raj Anand (vice-chair)

Carol Hartman (chair)
Linda Rothstein (vice-chair)

Governance Task Force
Thomas Heintzman (chair)
Vern Krishna (vice-chair)

Government Relations
James Caskey (co-chair)
Doug Lewis (co-chair)
Julian Porter (vice-chair)

Hearing Panel
Alan Gold (chair)
Raj Anand (vice-chair)

Constance Backhouse (chair)

Inter-Jurisdictional Mobility
Paul Henderson (chair)
Susan McGrath (vice-chair)

Ontario Lawyers' Gazette
Heather Ross (chair)
Jennifer Halajian (vice-chair)

Cathy Corsetti (chair)
William Simpson (vice-chair)

Priority Planning
Laurie H. Pawlitza (chair)

Proceedings Authorization
Julian Porter (chair)
Beth Symes (vice-chair)

Professional Development & Competence
Thomas Conway (chair)
Mary Louise Dickson (vice-chair)
Alan Silverstein (vice-chair)

Professional Regulation
Glenn Hainey (chair - PAC)
Carl Fleck (vice-chair)

Summary Disposition Bencher
Bonnie Tough
Paul Schabas (alternate)

Mark Sandler (co-chair)
Linda Rothstein (co-chair)
Alan Gold (vice-chair)