December 2001

December 7, 2001

New Bencher Elected
December's Convocation began with the election of new Bencher Joanne St. Lewis. Ms. St. Lewis was elected to fill the vacancy in the number of Benchers representing regions outside the City of Toronto created by the recent resignation of Sanda Rodgers.

Ms. St. Lewis is an Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Ottawa. She recently co-chaired the Canadian Bar Association's Working Group on Racial Equality. In the past, she was Executive Director of the Women's Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF).

Update on Federation's Inter-Jurisdictional Mobility Task Force
The Federation of Law Societies of Canada's Inter-Jurisdictional Mobility Task Force set out a proposed framework for the creation of a permanent mobility protocol at a meeting earlier this month. Details of the framework as well as planned next steps were presented to Convocation for information purposes. The Committee, chaired by Law Society Treasurer Vern Krishna, will meet again in January to consider issues related to temporary mobility and will prepare an interim report to be presented at the Federation of Law Societies meeting in March.

Inter-Jurisdictional Mobility Task Force Report

Honourary Doctorates of Laws to be Awarded
Honourary degrees of Doctor of Laws (LL.D.) will be awarded to Irving Abella , author, Member of the Order of Canada and Professor of History at York University; Marlys Edwardh , author and Editor of the Canadian Rights and Reporter; David Mullan , editor, author and Professor at Queen's University; Anna Porter , author, Publisher, C.E.O. and Director of Key Porter Books and Order of Canada Recipient; and William Kaplan , author and Professor of Law at the University of Ottawa.

Convocation presents Honourary Doctorates of Laws to individuals who have shown themselves to be role models because of their high standards, dedication and outstanding contributions to society. The degrees will be presented at a ceremony in 2002.

Heritage and Law Society Medal Committees Appointments Made
Greg Mulligan was appointed as a member of the Heritage Committee and Leonard Braithwaite, Kim Carpenter-Gunn, Abdul Chahbar and Edward Ducharme were appointed as members of the Law Society Medal Committee at this month's Convocation.

Agenda and Minutes