May 2003

May 22, 2003

Appeal Panel members named
Law Society of Upper Canada Treasurer, Professor Vern Krishna, Q.C., appointed seven benchers to serve as members of the Law Society's Appeal Panel:

  • Derry Millar (Chair)
  • John Campion
  • Kim Carpenter-Gunn
  • Abdul Chahbar
  • George Finlayson
  • Julian Porter
  • Ross Murray

The appointments were approved at the May 22 meeting of Convocation.

Convocation pays tribute to outgoing Lay Benchers
Convocation paid tribute to six of its Lay Benchers, who recently completed their term with The Law Society of Upper Canada.

Honourary Doctorates of Laws to the Awarded
The Law Society has announced the recipients of the Honorary degrees of Doctors of Law (LL.D.) during Call to the Bar Ceremonies to be held in July.

The recipients will be Chief Roberta Jamieson , I.P.C. , first Aboriginal woman in Canada to receive a law degree, former Ontario Ombudsman, former Commissioner of the Indian Commission of Ontario, Member of the Order of Canada, recipient of the Indigenous Peoples' Counsel (IPC) designation from the Indigenous Bar Association, recipient of the National Aboriginal Achievement Award, and the first woman to be elected Chief of Six Nations of the Grand River Territory; Professor Michael Trebilcock , a former National Vice-President of the Consumers' Association of Canada and Chair of the Consumer Research Council, elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and author of several books including The Common Law of Restraint of Trade, which earned him the Owen Prize in 1989 by the Foundation for Legal Research; and Dean Peter W. Hogg , Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of New Zealand and Victoria and the Bar of Ontario, University Professor and Dean at Osgoode Hall Law School, Canada's leading Constitutional law scholar, a teacher of Canadian Constitutional Law, Trusts and Income Tax Law, author of Constitutional Law of Canada, Liability of the Crown and Principles of Canadian Income Tax Law.

Honourary Doctorates of Laws are presented by Convocation to individuals who have shown themselves to be role models because of their high standards, dedication and outstanding contribution to society.

Agenda and Minutes