Application Prerequisites for Law School Graduates

The academic requirements for applying and entering the Lawyer Licensing Process are as follows:

Graduation from a common law program offered by a university in Canada approved by Convocation.  Upon successful completion of an approved common law program, the candidate will receive a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) or a Juris Doctor (J.D.) Degree. In most accredited law schools the minimum length of the common law program is three academic years.

Applicants to the Lawyer Licensing Process are no longer required to be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada.

Law Schools Approved by Convocation:

Law Schools in Ontario:

Lakehead University
Osgoode Hall Law School / York University
Queen's University
University of Ottawa
University of Toronto
University of Western Ontario
Universtiy of Windsor

Law Schools in Other Provinces:

Dalhousie University
McGill University
Thompson Rivers University
Université de Montréal
University of Alberta
University of British Columbia
University of Calgary
University of Manitoba
University of Moncton
University of New Brunswick
Université de Sherbrooke
University of Saskatchewan
University of Victoria