Program Resources

Candidates are responsible for finding an articling placement with an approved Articling Principal.  There are several initiatives and supports to assist candidates to find an articling placement.

Candidates must ensure that the Articling Principal is approved by the Law Society prior to starting the placement. The Law Society may not recognize placements started with an unapproved Principal.

Articling Registry

The Articling Registry enhances awareness of available articling placements for Ontario articling candidates. Law firms, legal organizations, law students and licensing candidates may use the registry for finding paid articling placements.

Articling Registry

Biographical Paragraphs

Candidates may submit a one paragraph summary of their qualifications to Articling, Licensing Process, Licensing and Accreditation Department of the Law Society for distribution to potential employers and others who have contacted our office in search of an articling candidate. If you are an employer who is able to offer paid articling placements and would like a copy of this form, please contact our office

Biographical Paragraph Submission Form 

 

Mentorship Program

The objective of the Mentorship Program is to provide candidates searching for an articling placement with support by pairing them with a lawyer who will provide advice and encouragement during their search.

Mentee Registration Form 
Mentor Enrolment Form 
 

General Job sites

Public Service Commission of Canada at www.jobs.gc.ca
Service Canada Job Bank at http://www.jobbank.gc.ca/
National Articling Database at www.totallegaljobs.ca/home/home.aspx
Legal Careers at www.legalcareers.ca
Legal Aid Ontario at www.legalaid.on.ca
Martindale Careers at www.martindale.com/Careers/Careers.aspx

Directories

Lexpert Directory of lawyers at www.lexpert.ca/directory
Hieros Gamos Legal Research Centre at www.hg.org/firms-ontario
Government Directory at http://sage-geds.tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca/
Ontario Government Directory at www.ontario.ca/en/your_government/index.htm
Canadian Law List at www.canadianlawlist.com
NALP Canadian Directory of Legal Employers at www.nalpcanada.com

Law Society of Upper Canada Directories

Articling Registry at http://articlingregistry.lsuc.on.ca/ArticleRegistry/article/Login.action
Lawyer and Paralegal Directory at http://www1.lsuc.on.ca/LawyerParalegalDirectory/index.jsp
Directory of Certified Specialists at http://www1.lsuc.on.ca/specialist/jsp/directory1.jsp

Law Schools, Law Societies and Associations

Law Schools Career Services at http://jurist.law.utoronto.ca/lawschl.htm
Federation of Law Societies at www.flsc.ca
Law Associations at http://jurist.law.utoronto.ca/ref_desk.htm#Associations
Career Verdict at http://www.jobboom.com/votrecarriere/meilleurduweb/careerverdict
The Aboriginal Human Resource Development Council of Canada at www.inclusionnetwork.ca
The Canadian Bar Association at www.cba.org
The County & District Law Presidents' Association at CDLPA at http://www.cdlpa.org/

Articling and Clerking Positions

Jurist Canada at http://jurist.law.utoronto.ca/articling.htm
Ministry of the Attorney General at www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca
Supreme Court of Canada at www.scc-csc.gc.ca
Department of Justice Canada at http://canada.justice.gc.ca
Tax Court of Canada at www.tcc-cci.gc.ca/clerk_e.htm