Law Society Medals: 2011 Nominations Requested

Nominations for the 2011 Law Society Medal, the Lincoln Alexander Award and the Laura Legge Award are invited and should be submitted in writing with current curriculum vitae and letters of support. People who have been nominated in past years, but not recognized, may be nominated again. The deadline for nominations is February 25, 2011.

Send nominations to:
Office of the Treasurer, Osgoode Hall,
130 Queen St.West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2N6 

Law Society Medal

MedalThumbnailThe Law Society Medal was established in 1985. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding service within the profession, whether in a particular area of practice, the academic sphere or in some other professional capacity. The award may be made for devotion to professional duties over a long period or for a single outstanding act of service in accordance with the highest ideals of the legal profession.

Lincoln Alexander Award

The Lincoln Alexander Award is awarded annually in recognition of an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated long-standing interest and commitment to the public and to the pursuit of community service on behalf of residents of Ontario. The award was created in 2002 in honour of The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander, P.C., C.C., O.Ont., Q.C., former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Member of Parliament, federal Cabinet Minister, and 2002 Law Society Medal recipient, to reward his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community.

Laura Legge Award

In May 2007, Convocation approved the establishment of the Laura Legge Award. This award is to be given annually to a female member of the Law Society who has exemplified leadership within the profession.

Laura Legge was a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada for more than 60 years. She became the first elected female bencher, the first woman ever to serve as Treasurer and was a senior partner of the firm of Legge & Legge. This award will continue to commemorate her exemplary professional career, her mentorship of other lawyers, her long-standing service to the Law Society and her admirable contribution to community service.

More information on Law Society awards